Tags

TMOAR Alum and natural hair salon owner Taji Shabu demos  a 20- minute "do" at I Love My Hair event

TMOAR Alum and natural hair salon owner Taji Shabu demos a 20- minute “do” at I Love My Hair event

I’ve been engaged in lots of conversation with my sistah-friends during the run of I Love My Hair The Play about what the piece is bringing up for them. Aya Shabu, our inspired choreographer, has identified the need for “hair loving” sessions. She’s observed that our hair is generally OFF LIMITS most of the time. Either it’s just been done and nobody (including our partner) can touch it. Or it’s not been done and nobody (including our partner) can see it, let alone touch it. We wonder… what are the long term physiological effects of not allowing our hair to be touched, other than by our trusted stylist? We believe that we need “hair loving” sessions where we gather together with the express purpose of letting our hair OUT without fear, shame, judgement, or a fiercely styled agenda. So, here is OUR assignment… 1) Purchase your tickets today to see I LOVE MY HAIR, 2) Host a “hair loving” session in your home with a handful of your closest sistah-friends and their daughters, 3) Engage in meaningful conversation. Together, we can transform the culture of black women and our hair with a simple loving touch.

